BMI Film, TV, Visual Media Awards Honorary Composer Christopher Lennertz


composer Christopher Lennertz announced BMI Icon at Broadcast Music Inc.’s 39th annual Film, TV and Visual Media Awards held in Beverly Hills on Wednesday night, May 10.

Lennertz is a two-time Emmy nominee (“The Boys”, “Supernatural”), veteran film composer (“Alvin and the Chipmunks”, “Horrible Bosses”, “Bad Moms”) and soundtrack creator (“Medal of Honor”), ” “Mass Effect,” “The Simpsons”) honored for a 30-year career in media music production.

BMI president and CEO Mike O’Neill presented the award, noting that Lennertz is “legendary with his diverse and distinctive influence on the worlds of film, television and gaming”, adding that “your captivating notes have been so successful” to the 51-year-old composer. us on an exciting journey.

Tracy McKnight, BMI’s Vice President of Creative, Film, TV and Visual Media, added: “From blockbusters to hit TV shows and games, his compelling work highlights Christopher’s passion for all musical styles, making him one of the industry’s most sought after. He has also dedicated himself to giving back and advancing the next generation of composers through philanthropic work.

Lennertz’s versatility is best matched by video clips featuring his TV work (“Marvel’s Agent Carter,” “Lost in Space,” “Revolution”) and old movies (“Sausage Party,” “Hop,” “Smurfs: The Lost). shown. The Village,” “Pitch Perfect 3”). In support of the composer, directors such as Eric Kripke (“The Boys”) and Tim Story (“Ride Along”) joined.

Lennertz also wrote orchestral arrangements for Ozomatli’s Grammy-winning album “Street Signs” and the recent remake of Guns N’ Roses’ classic “November Rain.” He wrote songs for Kelly Clarkson, Janelle Monae, and Lizzo, and most recently composed the music for the Disneyland fireworks show “Wondrous Journeys.”

Lennertz said Variation that the honor is “incredibly humble and super expressive.” As a BMI composer since 1994, he recalled being invited to his first film-music awards dinner, watching John Williams be honored, and “never dreamed I’d be on that stage” decades later.

Former director of BMI, Doreen Ringer had Ross assisted composer Basil Poledouris (“Lonesome Dove”) and later Michael Kamen (“Lethal Weapon”) and later orchestrated collaborations with Oscar winner Dave Grusin (on climate). . -change documentary “Harmony”) and Alan Menken (on “Galavant” and “Sausage Party”), all significant career turning points.

“I changed department [to film scoring] “The day after I met Henry Mancini,” Lennertz said. “He would make a jazz recording and then a soundtrack. Working for Kamen was the same thing: he would finish a score mark and then make a series of paintings for Eric Clapton. He’d always done records, theatre, musicals and “I wanted to make films.

When asked about his propensity to give back—raising money for hurricane-ravaged Haiti, serving on the boards of music education institutions—he said he was “instilled by his parents, both teachers, who have helped people find their passions and follow their dreams to teach, to mentor.” “Advocating education was a huge part of[their lives],” he said.

Lennertz told the black-tie crowd that his goal was to “help others find joy.” What we do when we tell stories is to help people believe. Our music helps people believe in their own stories, their own values, their own identity and their own existence. I am honored to be in this room full of people who totally love and believe in me.”

Numerous other composers were honored at the event for music featured in last year’s top-grossing films, top-rated TV series, and top-rated cable and internet media programs. Atlı Örvarsson won six awards, most nights, for his music in “Chicago PD”, “Chicago Med”, “Chicago Fire”, “FBI”, “FBI: International” and “FBI: Most Wanted”.

Other multi-award-winning composers include Pierre Charles (“Inventing Anna”), Mychael Danna (“Where the Crawdads Sing”), Ludwig Göransson (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”), Harry Gregson-Williams (“The Gilded Age”) , Kevin Kiner (“Dark Winds”), Sean Kiner (“Titans”), Clint Mansell (“Peacemaker”), Tony Morales (“Reacher”), Mike Post (“Law & Order”), Brian Tyler (“1883” ) and Breton Vivian (“Yellowstone”).

The full list of winners is here:

You may also like

Leave a Comment