Chris Stapleton, Hardy and Kane Brown to Receive Special Awards at ACM Honors


This Country Music Academy Released the biggest news on 16th Anniversary ACM Achievements The event, which takes place August 23 in Nashville – will be specially selected honorees, a traditionally curated mix of current superstars, veteran artists, and industry executives or broadcast personalities.

Chris StapletonKane Brown and Tim McGraw, Breland and hardy represents a newer guardian. Mary Chapin Carpenter, Clint Black and KT Oslin are the longest standing artists to have received their flowers from ACM.

Stapleton has most recently been awarded the ACM Triple Crown Award after being named entertainer of the year for the first time at the ACM Awards. This honor is given to anyone who has previously received this highest honor after being named male (or female) vocalist of the year and new male (or female) vocalist of the year at the ACMs. Only eight artists have achieved this feat so far. (Before Stapleton: Jason Aldean, Brooks & Dunn, Kenny Chesney, Mickey Gilley, Merle Haggard, Miranda Lambert, Barbara Mandrell and Carrie Underwood.)

McGraw will receive the Icon award alongside Mike Dungan, one of the best-known Nashville-ruled executives. Dungan retired as president-CEO of Universal Music Group Nashville this year and handed over the leadership of the company to Cindy Mabe; Previously, he was in top companies like Arista Nashville and Capitol Nashville dating back to the early 1990s.

Brown will receive the ACM International Award in recognition of his progress in country music beyond the US, as his 2022-23 tour found success in arenas in the UK and Europe, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and other markets hungry for their possessions in Nashville. offer.

The ACM Lift Every Voice Award is given for the first time and the first winner is Breland. It was designed for an artist or executive who “plays a pivotal role in amplifying voices that transcend geography and demographics and are underrepresented throughout the country music genre.”

The ACM Poet Award has three recipients this year, all of whom are the most important hitmakers of the ’80s and/or ’90s – Carpenter, Oslin and Black – each “to a country music songwriter for an outstanding and longstanding musical and/or They have made lyrical contributions throughout their careers, with special emphasis on the impact a song or songs have on country music culture.”

On the philanthropy front, Troy Vollhoffer will receive the Lifting Lives Award, while Charlie Cook and Bill Mayne will receive the ACM Service Award in the first case for their dedication to ACM’s primary philanthropic efforts and in the second case ACM’s Service Award.

Charlie Daniels is the posthumous recipient of the ACM Spirit Award, given to “a singer-songwriter who continues the legacy of country music legend Merle Haggard by following her own path, creating great songs and embodying Haggard’s spirit through real performances”. great storytelling.”

Two winners and already announced winners during the ACM Awards process will get a chance at the ACM Honors show to officially accept their awards: Hardy, winner of the artist-songwriter of the year award, and Ashley Gorley, who won the award. He was named songwriter of the year among non-recording artists.

Carly Pearce will host for the third time in a row. The ACM Hall of Fame will take place at the Ryman Auditorium on August 23, and tickets will be available to the public on pre-sale this Thursday and through AXS on Friday. (The show has been televised for several years, but no broadcast or webcast components have been announced yet.)

You may also like

Leave a Comment