Doja Cat Named Songwriter of the Year at the BMI Pop Awards 2023


doja cat named pop songwriter of the year in a specially organized competition BMI The Pop Awards are on May 9 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, California. Despite not being present at the ceremony, Doja Cat had six of the most played songs of 2022: “Get Into It (Yuh)” (co-written with Sully and Y2K), “I Like You (A Happier Song)” (co-written with Jasper Harris) , “Need to Know,” “Vegas” (co-written with Rogét Chahayed and Yeti Beats), “Woman” (co-written with Aaron Horn (PRS), Linden Jay (PRS), Jidenna and Yeti Beats), and “You’re right. ”

Khalid was presented with the BMI Champion Award by BMI president and CEO Mike O’Neill, who commended the singer-songwriter’s musical contributions, industry accolades (which garnered 18 BMI awards) and his commitment to portraying future songwriters.

Khalid with her mother, Linda Wolfe Great Khalid Foundation Offering music education programs, scholarship awards and community partnerships for young artists in 2020. In addition to its many efforts, the foundation recently helped donate backpacks to middle schools and held an essay writing competition for Mother’s Day.

Following his acceptance speech, the BMI Champion ordered the audience to perform his first hit single “Location”, as well as an acoustic performance of “Better” and “Talk”.

BMI President and CEO Mike O’Neill, BMI Champion Award winner Khalid, and BMI Vice President, Worldwide Creator Barbara Cane pose together at the 2023 BMI Pop Awards held at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, CA, May 9, 2023 gives. (Photo Contribution – Lester Cohen/Getty Images for BMI)

BMI’s pop song of the year award went to “Stay” written by Cashmere Cat, Isaac “Zac” De Boni, Omer Fedi, Haan, the Kid Laroi (APRA), Michael “Finatik” Mulé, Charlie Puth and Blake Slatkin. Other winners include Sony Music Publishing, which won the coveted publisher of the year award for representing the 24 most-played songs of the previous year, from Steve Lacy’s Grammy-nominated “Bad Habit” to Kate Bush’s “Running Up That Hill.”

The evening hosted guests and award winners from all over the pop world, including Imagine Dragos, Dove Cameron, Polow da Don, Lauren Spencer Smith and Justin Tranter. A total of 53 BMI artists won first-ever Pop awards, including Gayle and Sara Davis (for “abcdefu”), Tyler Cole (for “Meet Me at Our Spot”), and dazy and Nicky Youre (for “Sunroof”). For the full list of winners, see Here.

You may also like

Leave a Comment