Ivors 2023: Harry Styles, Kid Harpoon, Raye Among Wet Leg Candidates

by info.vocallyrics@gmail.com

lyrics partners harry styles And Child Harpoon It received an Ivor Novello nomination for the 2023 iteration of the awards show honoring British or Irish songwriters and composers. Along with Cleo Soul (Cleopatra Nikolic) and Dean “Inflo” Josiah Cover, they were the night’s most nominated duo with three nominations.

In partnership with Amazon Music, ivors as well as Florence Welch (Florence + the Machine), Styles and Harpoon, Rhian Teasdale and Hester Chambers (wet leg), George Daniel and Matty Healy (1975), and Central Cee and Young Chencs were nominated for the coveted songwriter of the year.

Styles and Harpoon are known for “As It Was” for best song musically and verbally, and PRS for most played musical piece. Olivia Wilde’s “Don’t Worry Darling,” starring Styles, also received composer John Powell’s endorsement for best original soundtrack.

As co-authors of Sault’s “Stronger”, “Inflo” and Cleo Soul go head-to-head with “As It Was” for best song musically and verbally. They were also nominated for best album twice, once for their work on Little Simz’s track “NoThank You” and Sault’s 11th Star with Jamar McNaughton and Jack Peñate.

Also, the nominees for best album of 2023 include Arctic Monkeys’ “The Car” (written by Alex Turner), Obongjayar’s “Some Nights I Dream of Doors” (written by Barney Lister and Obongjayar), and Fontaines DC’s ” Skinty Fia” (written by Grian Chatten, Thomas Coll, Conor Curley, Conor Deegan and Carlos O’Connell).

Ed Sheeran’s “Bad Habits” is making history by earning another nomination, following the award it won last year, in the category of the most performed piece in PRS music. Sheeran’s sequel “Shivers” was also nominated in this category this year.

In the best contemporary song category, Wesley Joseph and Leon Vynehall were nominated for “Cold Summer”, Raye, 070 Shake and Mike Sabath were nominated for “Escapism” and Owen Cutts, P2J, Prgrshn and Stormzy were nominated for “Hide & Seek”. View the full list of candidates below.

The winners will be announced at Ivors with Amazon Music held at Grosvenor House in London on May 18.

“The music nominated for this year’s Ivor Novello is testament to the strength and scope of British and Irish songwriting and screenwriting,” said Tom Gray, president of Ivors Academy. “This is an excellent list, and on behalf of the Ivors Academy, I am happy to congratulate each and every writer nominated for their craft and achievements.”

Ivors 2023 nominees:

Songwriter of the Year with Amazon Music
Central Cee and Young Chencs
Florence Welch
Harry Styles and Kid Harpoon
Rhian Teasdale and Hester Chambers
George Daniel and Matty Healy

best contemporary song

“Cold Summer” (written by Wesley Joseph and Leon Vynehall; voiced by Wesley Joseph)
“Escapism” (written by 070 Shake, Raye & Mike Sabath; performed by Raye & 070 Shake)
“Hide & Seek” (written by Owen Cutts, P2J, PRGSHN & Stormzy; performed by Stormzy)
“Leon the Professional” (written by Knucks, Venna and Toshifumi Hinata; performed by Knucks)
“Payback” (written by Knucks, Kojey Radical and Swindle; voiced by Kojey Radical feat. Knucks)

Best song musically and verbally

“As It Was” (Written by Kid Harpoon, Tyler Johnson and Harry Styles; voiced by Harry Styles)
“Best Day of My Life” (Written by Laurie Blundell and Tom Odell; voiced by Tom Odell)
“Complex” (written by Katie Gregson-Macleod; performed by Katie Gregson-Macleod)
“King” (written by Jack Antonoff and Florence Welch; voiced by Florence + The Machine)
“Stronger” (written by Dean “Inflo” Josiah Cover and Cleopatra Nikolic; voiced by Sault)

PRS for most performed piece for music

“As It Was” (Written by Kid Harpoon, Tyler Johnson and Harry Styles; voiced by Harry Styles)
“Bad Habits” (Written by Fred, Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran; voiced by Ed Sheeran)
“Heat Waves” (Written by Dave Bayley, performed by Glass Animals)
“Running Up That Hill” (written by Kate Bush; performed by Kate Bush)
“Quicker” (written by Johnny McDaid, Kal Lavelle, Steve Mac and Ed Sheeran; voiced by Ed Sheeran)

best album
“11” (written by Dean “Inflo” Josiah Cover, Jamar McNaughton, Cleopatra Nikolic and Jack Peñate; voiced by Sault)
“No Thank You” (written by Dean “Inflo” Josiah Cover, Little Simz and Cleopatra Nikolic; performed by Little Simz)
“Skinty Fia” (Written by Grian Chatten, Thomas Coll, Conor Curley, Conor Deegan and Carlos O’Connell; voiced by Fontaines DC)
“Some Nights I Dream of Doors” (written by Barney Lister and Obongjayar; voiced by Obongjayar)
Car; Written by Alex Turner; performed by Arctic Monkeys)

Best original soundtrack
“Avatar” (The Way of Water; composed by Simon Franglen)
“Death on the Nile” (composed by Patrick Doyle)
“Don’t Worry Darling” (Composed by John Powell)
“Miss. Harris Goes to Paris” (Composed by Rael Jones)
“The Electrical Life of Louis Wain” (composed by Arthur Sharpe)

best tv music
“Bad Sisters” (composed by PJ Harvey and Tim Phillips)
“Elizabeth: The Unseen Queen” (composed by David Schweitzer)
“Midwich Cuckoos” (composed by Hannah Peel)
“Answer” (composed by Matthew Herbert)
“The Thief, His Wife and the Canoe” (Composed by Harry Escott and Ben Pearson)

Best original video game score

Gotham Knights; Composed by The Flight
Horizon Forbidden West; Composed by Joris de Man, Oleksa Lozowchuk and The Flight.
Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope; It was composed by Gareth Coker, Grant Kirkhope and Yoko Shimomura.

Rising star award with Amazon Music

Cat Burns
ines dunn
Victory Channel

You may also like

Leave a Comment